Grass Autotest – 17th July

Grass Autotest – 17th July

Event details

▪ Date: Sunday 17th July
▪ Venue
: Larglea, Crocketford
▪ Results: pdf link >here<
▪ Points:
updated after Rd 9 >here<

Event Report

Our fourth Grass Autotest of the year took place on Sunday 17th July, at Larglea, with the kind permission of the Sommerville family.

Class 1 (under 1400cc FWD): Picking up where he left at Springholm, Rab Henderson was again victorious in the MG, ahead of the Nissan Sunny of Grant Carson, with Niall Cowan Jnr putting the Rover on the class podium in 3rd. The Nissan Sunny trio of Aaran Ferguson, Peter Game and Jack Gaffney were next, ahead of Ian Biagi in the Mini, just 0.44 ahead of the David White Nissan Sunny. The Rover of Ashley Thomson, David Drummond in the Ford Fiesta and Heather Martin in the shared Mini rounded off the class.

Class 2 (over 1400cc FWD): The Nissan Micra battle resumed, but when Thomas McCarney hit trouble on the final run he dropped from 1st to third, following home his wife Karen McCarney and class winner Richard Dickson. Nancy Dickson finished 5th, in a Ford Puma sandwich between Jack Houston (4th) and Alan McMorran (6th).

Class 5
 (Specials): Billy Biagi was the winner in Class 5 in his Buggy, and Claire Harvey was 2nd in her Mini Special.

After six runs, it was Rab Henderson who won by over 18 seconds, with Richard Dickson taking second overall and first Senior, just ahead of 3rd placed (and First Lady) Karen McCarney.  Niall Cowan Jnr took first Novice.

Thanks go to the Sommerville family again for the venue, to Thomas, David & Rab for Organising, and to Norman & Co for timing and results, and all who helped on the day.

The next event will be a Grass Autotest on Sunday 21st August – more information here.

Solway Car Club News

Spring 12 Car Dates

The provisional dates for our Spring 12 Car Rallies are: ▪ Wednesday 14th February (Map 84) ▪ Wednesday 28th February (Map 84) ▪ Wednesday 13th March (Map TBC) Entries will open soon. Please contact Keith… Learn More

February 5th, 2024