News 2020 - January

January 2020

Following 18 successful events in 2019, Solway Car Club held their annual Dinner Dance and Presentation of Prizes in the Arden House on Saturday night.

Richard Dickson was again the Overall Champion, making it a record 16 times that his name has appeared on the Ron Smith Memorial Trophy since his first title in 1990.

Runner-up to Overall Champion was Rab Henderson, with Nancy Dickson finishing 3rd Overall. She also took home Overall Lady Champion, and Senior Champion.

In the Autotest series, the Tarmac Champion was Thomas McCarney, with Rab Henderson taking the same title on Grass.

Special thanks to May for organising the evening, and Glen and Leah for providing the music.

Solway Car Club are indebted to the Landowners who provided a venue for events in 2019, to their individual event sponsors, and to all the Organisers and Marshals who helped make these events happen.

New members are always welcome at events; visit to sign up and find out how you can get involved.

The 2019 Awards, which were presented by the Chairman’s mother, Mrs. Ruth Peacock, were as follows:


One Tarmac Autotest Class Win: TJ McCarney, Drew McLean, Chris Adams, Mark McCulloch, Rab Henderson, Keith Riddick & Ron Orr; Two Tarmac Autotest Class Wins: Thomas McCarney; Four Tarmac Autotest Class Wins: Richard Dickson.

One First Steps Motorsport Autotest Class Wins: George Robertson, Ben Murray, Bailey Hodgson, Fergus Adams, Sam Maxwell; Two First Steps Motorsport Autotest Class Wins: Jack Patterson.

One Grass Autotest Class Win: Iain Wilson & Jack Houston; Two Grass Autotest Class Wins: Billy Biagi; Six Grass Autotest Class Wins: Richard Dickson; Seven Grass Autotest Class Wins: Rab Henderson.

12 Car Rallies:

Six Novice 12 Car Rally Wins: Rab Henderson & Peter Game; Three Semi-Expert 12 Car Rally Wins: Ron Orr & Grace Orr; Three Semi-Expert 12 Car Rally Wins: Nancy Dickson & Greg Alcorn; Three Expert 12 Car Rally Wins: Richard Dickson & Roger Alcorn; Three Expert 12 Car Rally Wins: Scott Peacock & Keith Riddick

Novice 12 Car Rally Champions: Rab Henderson & Peter Game; Semi-Expert 12 Car Champions: Ron Orr & Grace Orr; Expert 12 Car Rally Champion Drivers (Joint): Richard Dickson & Scott Peacock; Expert 12 Car Rally Champion Navigators (Joint): Roger Alcorn & Keith Riddick

Perpetual Awards:

Novice Autotest Champion (Handicap Cup): Greg Haugh; Cone Killer: Peter Game; Robertson Golden Jubilee Trophy: Rab Henderson; Chrysler Award: David White; Best Performance by a Navigator (McHarg Trophy): Robin Neil; Marshals Award (Sanny Alexander Memorial Award): Ron Orr; Best Performance in 2019 outside Solway Car Club Events (Grierson Trophy): Iain Wilson; Worst Luck of the Year (Vice-President’s Choice): Keith Riddick; Armstrong Trophy (President’s Choice): Kirsty Riddick; 

Tarmac Autotest Champion (Solway Car Club Driving Test Trophy): Thomas McCarney; Grass Autotest Champion (Craigmorn Trophy): Rab Henderson; Junior Boy Champion: Jack Patterson; Senior Champion: Nancy Dickson; Novice Champion (Dalbeattie Civic Trophy): Alex Dodds

3rd Overall Lady: Barbara Armstrong; Runner up to Ladies Champion (McMillan Cup): Grace Orr; Ladies Champion: Nancy Dickson

3rd Overall: Nancy Dickson; Runner up to Overall Champion (Dick Robson Memorial Cup): Rab Henderson; Overall Champion (Ron Smith Memorial Trophy): Richard Dickson

January 2020

Events in January are the AGM (January 15th) and the Dinner Dance (Saturday 18th).

Points after Round 18 - January 2020

Points after Round 18 (12 Car Rally on 8th January 2020) have been updated. Congratulations to our winners, Richard Dickson & Roger Alcorn.